A Guide to Florida Governors and the Florida Cabinet

Harrison Reed

Harrison Reed

Ninth governor: July 4, 1868 to January 7, 1873

Party Affiliation: Republican

Lt. Governor: William H. Gleason (1868-1870); Edmund C. Weeks (1870-1871); Samuel T. Day (1871-1873)

First Lady: Chloe Merrick Reed

Florida Cabinet

Secretary of State:
Benjamin Allen (1863-1868)
George Alden (1868-1868)
Jonathan Gibbs (1868-1873
John Beard (1866-1868)
Robert H. Gamble (1868-1873)
Simon Barclay Conover (1868-1873)
Commissioner of Immigration:
Attorney General:
James D. Westcott (1868)
A.R. Meek (1868-1870)
Sherman Conant (1870-1871)
J.B.C. Drew (1871-1872)
Horatio Bisbee, Jr. (1872)
J.P.C. Emmons (1872-1873)
Adjutant General:
John Varnum (1870-1877)
Supt. of Public Instruction:
C. Thurston Chase (1868-1870)
Henry Quarles (1870-1871)
Rev. Charles Beecher (1871-1873)
Surveyor General

Florida Photographic Collection:
Collections at the State Archives of Florida:
Published Materials:
  • Ackerman, Philip D. “Florida Reconstruction from Walker through Reed, 1865-1873.” MA Thesis: University of Florida, 1973.
Related Links:
  • Harrison Reed, Florida Governors' Portraits, Museum of Florida History.