A Guide to Florida Governors and the Florida Cabinet

William Dunn Moseley (1795-1863)

William Dunn Moseley

First governor under statehood: June 25, 1845 to October 1, 1849

Party Affiliation: Democrat

Lt. Governor: None

First Lady: [Widower]

Florida Cabinet

Secretary of State:
James T. Archer (1845-1848)
Augustus E. Maxwell (1848-1849)
Charles W. Downing (1849-1853)
Nathanial P. Bemis (1845)
Hugh Archer (1845-1847)
Nathanial P. Bemis (1847)
Hugh Archer (1847)
Simon Towle (1847-1851)
Benjamin Byrd (1845-1848)
William R. Hayward (1848-1853)

Florida Photographic Collection:
Collections at the State Archives of Florida:
Related Links:

Questions and Feedback Form
Please provide your name
Please provide a valid email address
Please provide a valid phone number
Please provide a comment

Please note:
Under Florida law, email addresses are public records. If you do not want your email address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.