A Guide to Florida Governors and the Florida Cabinet

Charley Johns

Charley Johns

Thirty-second (acting) governor: September 28, 1953 to January 4, 1955

Party Affiliation: Democrat

Lt. Governor: None

First Lady: Thelma Brinson Johns

Florida Cabinet

Secretary of State:
Robert A. Gray (1930-1961)
Clarence M. Gay (1946-1955)
J. Edwin Larson (1941-1965)
Commissioner of Agriculture:
Nathan Mayo (1923-1960)
Attorney General:
Richard W. Ervin (1949-1964)
Supt. of Public Instruction:
Thomas D. Bailey (1949-1965)

Florida Photographic Collection:
  • Gov. Charley Johns-Leroy Collins
    This debate between acting Gov. Charley Johns and future governor LeRoy Collins was filmed from a television monitor (kinescope) and simultaneously broadcast throughout Florida on radio.
Collections at the State Archives of Florida:
Published Materials:
  • Christie, Terry L. “The Collins-Johns Election, 1954: A Turning Point.” Apalachee (1963-1967).
  • Stark, Bonnie. “McCathyism in Florida: Charley Johns and the Florida Legislative Investigative Committee, July 1956 to July 1965.” MA Thesis: University of South Florida, 1985.
  • Schnur, James “Cold Warriors in the Hot Sunshine: The Johns Committee Assault on Civil Liberties in Florida, 1956-1965.” MA Thesis: University of South Florida, 1995.
  • University of Florida, College of Journalism and Comminication. Behind Closed Doors [videorecording], 2000.
Related Links:
  • Charley Johns, Florida Governors' Portraits, Museum of Florida History.