A Guide to Florida Governors and the Florida Cabinet

Sidney Catts

Sidney Catts

Twenty-second governor: January 2, 1917 to January 4, 1921

Party Affiliation: Prohibition

Lt. Governor: None

First Lady: Alice May Campbell Catts

Florida Cabinet

Secretary of State:
Clay Crawford (1902-1929)
William V. Knott (1912-1917)
Ernest Amos (1917-1933)
Commissioner of Agriculture:
William Allen McRae (1912-1923)
Attorney General:
Thomas F. West (1913-1917)
Van Cicero Swearingen (1917-1921)
Supt. of Public Instruction:
William N. Sheats (1913-1922)

Florida Photographic Collection:
Collections at the State Archives of Florida:
Other Repositories:
  • Papers, University of West Florida.
Published Materials:
  • Deal, John Ricard. “Sidney Johnston Catts: Stormy Petrel of Florida Politics.” MA Thesis: University of Florida, 1949.
  • Lord, Dorothy. “Sidney J. Catts and the Gubernatorial Election of 1916.” Apalachee (1963-1967).
  • Chance, Jean. “Sidney J. Catts and the Press: A Study of Editorial Coverage of the 1916 Governors Race.” MA Thesis: University of Florida, 1969.
  • Flynt, Wayne. Cracker Messiah: Governor Sidney J. Catts of Florida. Baton Rouge, La: Lousiiana State University, 1977.
Related Links:
  • Sidney Catts, Florida Governors' Portraits, Museum of Florida History.