A Guide to Florida Governors and the Florida Cabinet

James E. Broome (1808-1883)

James E. Broome

Third governor: October 3, 1853 to October 5, 1857

Party Affiliation: Democrat

Lt. Governor: None

First Lady: Martha Macon Hawkins

Florida Cabinet

Secretary of State:
Fred Villepigue (1853-1863)
John Beard (1851-1854)
Theodore W. Brevard (1854)
James T. Archer (1854-1855)
Theodore W. Brevard (1855-1860)
Charles H. Austin (1853-186?)

Florida Photographic Collection:
Collections at the State Archives of Florida:
Related Links:
  • James E. Broome, Florida Governors' Portraits, Museum of Florida History.

Questions and Feedback Form
Please provide your name
Please provide a valid email address
Please provide a valid phone number
Please provide a comment

Please note:
Under Florida law, email addresses are public records. If you do not want your email address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.