Constitution of 1865

In October 1865, delegates convened to reestablish Florida as part of the United States by revoking the state’s Ordinance of Secession and passing a new state constitution. The state remained under martial law, however, and Congress refused to seat legislators from the former Confederate states until more stringent requirements were met. Florida ultimately scrapped the Constitution of 1865 in favor of a new version created in 1868.

Constitution of 1865


thence up the middle of said river to where it intersects the southern boundary line of the State of Alabama, on the thirty-first degree of North latitude; then due East to the Chattahoochee river; thence down the middle of said river to its confluence with the Flint river;

from thence straight to the head of the St. Marys river; thence down the middle of said river to the Atlantic Ocean; thence southwardly to the Gulf of Florida and Gulf of Mexico; thence northwardly and westwardly, including all islands within five leagues of the shore, to the beginning.


Banks and Other Corporations.

Section 1. The General Assembly shall pass no act of incorporation, nor make any alteration in one, unless with the assent of at least two-thirds of each House, and unless public notice in one or more newspapers in the State shall have been given for at least three months immediately preceding the session at which the same may be applied for.

Section 2. No bank charter, nor any act of incorporation granting exclusive privileges, shall be granted for a longer period than twenty years.

Section 3. Banks chartered by the General Assembly shall be restricted to the business of exchange, discount and deposit, and