Florida Convention of the People, Ordinance of Secession, 1861

Series: (Series 972)

Page 1 of 1

Civil War

Florida Convention of the People, Ordinance of Secession, 1861


Ordinance of Secession
We, the people of the State of Florida in Convention assembled, do solemnly ordain, publish and declare: That the State of Florida hereby withdraws herself from the Confederacy of States existing under the name of the United States of America, and from the existing Government of said States: and that all political connection between her and the Government of said States ought to be and the same is hereby totally annulled, and said union of States dissolved: and the State of Florida is hereby declared a Sovereign and Independent Nation: and that all ordinances heretofore adopted in so far as they create or recognize  said Union, are rescinded: and all laws or parts of laws in force in this State, in so far as they recognize or assent to said Union be and they are hereby repealed.

Done in open Convention, January 10th, A. D. 1861.
John C. McGehee President.

A. W. Nicholson
S. H. Wright
R. D. Jordan
Adam McNealy
Thomas Y. Henry
E. C. Love
A. J. Lea
W. H. Sever
E. P. Barronton
Joseph Finegan
James G. Cooper
Jas. H. Chandler
David G. Leigh
James Gettis
S. S. Alderman
Alexander L. McCaskill

S. J. Baker
S. B. Stephens
Freeman B. Irwin
McQueen McIntosh
Saml W. Spencer
D. D. McLean
Lewis A. Folsom
Green H. Hunter
Jas. A. Newman
Arthur J. T. Wright
Isaac S. Coon
John J. Lamb
Isaac N. Rutland
Wm. Pinkney
Winer Bethel
Joseph A. Collier
of Jacksonville

Jackson Morton
E. E. Simpson Danl Ladd
David Lewis
Thompson B. Lamar
J. Patton Anderson
Thomas M. Palmer
William S. Dilworth
J. M. Daniel
T. J. Hendrick
J. P. Sanderson
Jas. B. Owens
Summerfield M. G. Gary
W. McGahagin
Asa F. Tift
James L. G. Baker

Abraham Kyrkyndale Allison
John Beard
James Kirksey
G. W. Parkhill
Geo. T. Ward
W. G. M. Davis
Joseph Thomas
Mathew Solana
Jas. O. Devall
R. G. Mays
John C. Pelot
James B. Dawkins
William W. Woodruff
W. B. Yates
John Morrison

Attest William S. Harris, Secretary.