John Martin

John Martin

Twenty-fourth governor: January 6, 1925 to January 8, 1929

Party Affiliation: Democrat

Lt. Governor: None

First Lady: Lottie Wilt Pepper Martin

Florida Cabinet

Secretary of State:
Clay Crawford (1902-1929)

Ernest Amos (1917-1933)

J. C. (John Christian) Luning (1912-1928)
William V. Knott (1928-1941)

Commissioner of
Nathan Mayo (1923-1960)

Attorney General:
Rivers Buford (1921-1925)
J.B. Johnson (1925-1927)
Fred H. Davis (1927-1931)

Supt. of Public
William S. Cawthon (1922-1937)

Florida Photographic Collection:

Collections at the State Archives of Florida:

Published Materials:

  • McDonell, Victoria Harden. “The Businessman’s Politician: A Study of the Administration of John Wellborn Martin, 1925-1929.” MA Thesis: University of Florida, 1968.

Related Links:

  • John Martin, Florida Governors' Portraits, Museum of Florida History.

Related Resources