Spessard Holland

Spessard Holland

Twenty-eighth governor: January 7, 1941 to January 2, 1945

Party Affiliation: Democrat

Lt. Governor: None

First Lady: Mary Agnes Groover Holland

Florida Cabinet

Secretary of State:
Robert A. Gray (1930-1961)

J. M. (James Martin) Lee (1933-1946)

J. Edwin Larson (1941-1965)

Commissioner of
Nathan Mayo (1923-1960)

Attorney General:
J. Tom Watson (1941-1949)

Supt. of Public
Colin English (1937-1949)

Florida Photographic Collection:

Collections at the State Archives of Florida:

Other Repositories:

  • Papers, Strozier Library, Florida State University.
  • Papers, P.K. Yonge Library of Florida History, University of Florida.

Published Materials:

  • Evans, Jon. “Florida Politics in the Shadow of War: The 1940 Governor’s Race.” MA Thesis: Florida State University, 2000.

Related Links:

Related Resources