Albert Gilchrist

Albert Gilchrist

Twentieth governor: January 5, 1909 to January 7, 1913

Party Affiliation: Democrat

Lt. Governor: None

First Lady: [Bachelor]

Florida Cabinet

Secretary of State:
Clay Crawford (1902-1929)

A.C. Croom (1901-1912)
William V. Knott (1912-1917)

William V. Knott (1903-1912)
J. C. (John Christian) Luning (1912-1928)

Commissioner of
Benjamin E. McLin (1901-1912)
J. C. (John Christian) Luning (1912-1912)
William Allen McRae (1912-1923)

Attorney General:
Park Trammell (1909-1913)

Supt. of Public
William M. Holloway (1905-1913)

Florida Photographic Collection:

Collections at the State Archives of Florida:

Other Repositories:

  • Papers, Strozier Library, Florida State University.
  • Papers, P.K. Yonge Library of Florida History, University of Florida.

Published Materials:

  • Satid, Mary. “Florida’s Middle of the Road Governor.” MA Thesis: University of Florida, 1950.
  • Parker, Daisy. “The Inauguration of Albert Waller Gilchrist, Nineteenth Governor of the State of Florida.” Apalachee (1963-1967).
  • Kabat, Ric. “Alabert Gilchrist: Florida’s Progressive Governor.” MA Thesis: Florida State University, 1987.

Related Links:

Related Resources