Reubin O'Donovan Askew

Reubin Askew

Thirty-seventh governor: January 5, 1971 to January 2, 1979

Party Affiliation: Democrat

Lt. Governor: Tom Adams (1971-1975); James Williams (1975-1979)

First Lady: Donna Lou Harper Askew

Florida Cabinet

Secretary of State:
Richard Stone (1971-1974)
Dorothy Glisson (1974-1975)
Bruce Smathers (1975-1978)
Jesse McCrary (1978-1979)

Fred O. Dickinson (1965-1975)
Gerald Lewis (1975-1995)

Treasurer &
Thomas D. O’Malley (1971-1975)
Philip F. Ashler (1975-1976)
William D. “Bill” Gunter (1976-1989)

Commissioner of
Doyle Conner (1961-1991)

Attorney General:
Robert L. Shevin (1971-1979)

Commissioner of
Floyd T. Christian (1969-1974)
Ralph D. Turlington (1974-1986)

Florida Photographic Collection:

Collections at the State Archives of Florida:

Other Repositories:

  • Speeches, P.K. Yonge Library of Florida History, University of Florida.
  • Interview, Southern Oral History Program, University of North Carolina.
  • Interview, Samuel Proctor Oral History Program, University of Florida.

Published Materials:

  • Harvey, Gordon. A Question of Justice: New South Governors and Education, 1968-1976. Tuscaloosa, Alabama: University of Alabama Press, 2002.
  • Sanders, Randy. Mighty Peculiar Elections: The New South Gubernatorial Campaigns of 1970 and the Changing Politics of Race. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 2002.

Related Links:

Related Resources